Some people think that women can play an equal role to men in country's police force and army. While others think this kind of work is not suitable for women. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Many recent wars and insurgencies have provided example that combat unit containing men and women have performed well in battle, though the dispute about whether women should be allowed to join country's police or army has never stopped. In this essay, I am going to examine both sides and provide my opinion.

Women should, without a doubt, be allowed to join police force and army, regardless of gender difference, especially if women meet the physical standards. The common belief that women were naturally softer and gentler by nature, in fact a culturally defined assumption by no means common to all human societies over time. Moreover, most position in today's military and police require little physical conditioning and a lot of intellectual training and discipline. To deny women the right to fight for their fellow citizens is to deny them their rights as citizen and should be stopped.

On The other hand, there are people who think that women should not participate in country's defensive force. First of all, by placing women alongside with men in force could seriously harm both the morale and the on- the-ground capabilities of the military. Secondly, women lose too much training and duty time from pregnancy and other problems. As military policy allows pregnant women to resign immediately, it opens up the possibility that vital members of the unit could suddenly disappear at a time. The bottom line is that integrating females into direct combat occupations will weaken the effectiveness of combat unit.

To sum up, though there are some drawbacks about women joining the police or army, I think there should not be any legal objections for women to decide what profession they want to choose.