Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is evident that the debate of whether zoos are good or bad for animals has taken center stage among the worlds environmental issues. While some people say that all animal enclosures must be closed, others argue that it preserves many species from going extinct. I completely agree with the latter. This essay will discuss both sides and support my opinion with examples.

Firstly, it is undeniable that animal enclosures force animals to live in captivity whereby they are depraved of freedom and the ability to use their natural instincts. To elaborate, animals which were designed by nature to roam the earth freely are now kept in a locked cage away from their natural homes.For example, the researchers at Harvard University found that animals held in zoo could no longer use their natural instincts to hunt and survive in the wild. Furthermore, the animals in the zoo have to endure harsh living conditions that they were not designed to survive in. For example of the 15 zoos in India, 13 zoos had habitats that were not suitable for the animals.

That being said, if zoos are not present, animals which are on the verge of extinction can no longer be protected from hunting activities. That is, with the rise of poaching, numerous species have been annihilated to the brink of extinction. Thus zoos act as a buffer to always keep such species alive. For example, all the east African elephants in the wild have been wiped out, however the Austrian zoo has a male and female east African elephant which can be used to ensure that the species survives. Thus it is my opinion that zoo's serve a far better purpose to animals.

To summarize, although zoo's restrict animals by removing their freedom, they serve a much nobler purpose of keeping several species alive for generations, hence it is my opinion that zoos must continue to exist in order to protect animals.