Marketing and promotion is the key to a successful business. To what extent do you agree?

The growth of any organization is primarily dependent on its ability to publicize and advertise. This essay agrees with the statement that marketing and promoting is very quintessential to the success of a business. Firstly this essay will show how advertising affects the tendency of people to buy a particular product and secondly explain how marketing gives business an edge over its competitors.

Marketing and advertising psychologically affect the tendencies of people to buy a particular product or service. If a particular product or service is displayed a sufficient number of times, it will continue to remain in the mind of the viewers. This residual memory will then be triggered when the target audience or viewer goes to the supermarket or store. This trigger will in turn cause the consumer to prefer the product that remains in his memory.

For example, the tag line "no one can eat just one" from Lays was repeated so often on television and radio that, in the year 1995 lays had close to 80% of the potato chips market share.

Businesses can be a step ahead of their competitors via appropriate advertising. A business could out-market a competitor by reaching the consumers through innovative means and through various channels. This would enable them to hold a major portion of the market in their product or service category.

For instance, in 1998 Coca Cola had used neon boards and public transport adverts to propagate their drink which resulted in a 35% rise in sales of Coca Cola and a 12% drop in sales for Pepsi.

To conclude, marketing and promotion are really at the core of a successful business by enabling them to attract many customers to buy their product and stay ahead of other competitors