Some people think that zoos are cruel and that all zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain individuals agree that in zoos poor animals are kept in confinement and are treated poorly, whereas, other have an opinion that zoos help in protecting the endangered species. In my opinion, I do believe that animals are treated with cruelly by the zoo keepers and it should be closed.

Many individuals believe that zoos should be closed as the animals are made to live is confinements with restricted movement, as a result, the animals lose their natural wild instinct. The animals are given limited food to eat as a result they become much weaker. Moreover, the zookeepers are not very trained and do not possess a proper knowledge of how to deal with the animals, they exploit them and force them to do shows to entertain people which becomes a source of revenue generation. To elucidate, a recent study by National Geographic shows that when the caged animals such as lion and tigers are released in the jungle, they completely forget their hunting skills and thus are killed by the predators.

However, others opine that zoos help protect the rare and threatened species from various human exploitation. To be more precise, the natural habitat of wildlife is destroyed by human activities such as deforestation and poaching, so y keeping them in the zoos protects them from being extinct. Furthermore, animals in zoos are very beneficial for the society in providing not only for providing education about their behaviour and eating habits to children but also in the study of anatomy by the researchers. To illustrate, panda which is an endangered animal because of hunting by people for its fur but after the development of infrastructure like zoo helps to protect the species from being extinct.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that zoos should be banned and shut down as the animals right to live freely in their natural habitat is violated and they are treated brutally by the zookeepers.