Some psychologists recommend that it is important to overcome stress by spending time doing nothing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, the lifestyle of people has become sedentary which has increased the level of stress among people. In order to rejuvenate the stressful minds, some psychologists suggest to stay completely idle for some period of time during the day. However, I strongly disagree with the notion, owing to the facts that it can cause wastage of time and, physical and psychological in-activeness.

To begin with, there are a plethora of reasons to support my view-point that performing no-work is not the most effective approach to relieve stress. Firstly, sitting idle causes the wastage of precious time while that time can be consumed in some productive stress-relieving activities such as meditation. Moreover, involvement in recreational activities of one's own interest plays a pivotal role in reducing tension, which, in turn, elevates the zeal to work hard. For instance, in the multinational company, the Tata Consultancy Services, every Friday a rejuvenation session of freestyle dancing is conducted at every branch which has ranked first in the best stress reliever strategies.

Secondly, my opinion is further bolstered by the point that doing nothing can lead to an inactive mind and body. This is because the lethargic level gets increased when we sit idle, consequently, this reduces the power of the brain which further can affect the performance in work. To illustrate, according to a survey by Microsoft India on its employees concluded that 60% of the enthusiasm of the employees decreases after the evening tea-breaks due to their indulgence in idle work, this further leads to their in-effective productivity. Thus, to refresh the mind and body, engagement in extra-curricular activities is quintessential.

In conclusion, although some psychological experts believe inactivity for some time can relax the mind and enhance the ability to concentrate more, in my perspective, it is a sheer waste of time and it can also lead to less-proactiveness of mind. Therefore, personal introspection and leisure activities are more effective ways of stress-bursters.