Some school leavers tend to go travelling or work for a period of time before going to university directly. what do you think are the advantages and disadvantages

Graduating from high school, some students tend to get a job or go on a vacation before university life. While I accept that there are benefits and drawbacks of this decisions, I would agree that it is better to take a gap year to work or travel.

The option to get a job or travel straight after graduation is disadvantageous to some extent. First, without any qualifications except the diploma from high school, graduates have no opportunity to get a well-paid job and that avoids them to meet basic human needs. For example, a top job with a worthy compensation always require candidates to have a bachelor degree or higher. That is definitely impossible with those only finished high school. In addition, travelling costs the young a great deal. If they travel right after high school, they will earn no money and have to ask their parents for the expense. It is not advisable that people should take this option.

On the other hand, it seems to me that high school seniors should choose to work or travel for a period of time because of some undeniable advantages. Firstly, taking a year is a good chance for them to gain some valuable experience. My brother, for instance, travelled to Thailand to watch the shows of transgender models and claim that he could understand the difficulties of these people. As a result, he showed much more positive attitudes toward transsexual men and women. Secondly, working freely in a year helps young graduates clarify their study and career future. They can do various jobs without a long-term commitment in this time, and discover what might be right for them.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many advantages for young people who start working or traveling prior to beginning their university studies, although this decision has some notable disadvantages.