Some school leavers tend to go travelling or work for a period of time before going to university directly. what do you think are the advantages and disadvantages and what is your own opinion?

It is true that some school leavers prefer to go travelling or to gain some working experience first before consider going to University to obtain a degree as there are more benefit that they can get by working first. While I agree with the statement, I believe that going university first would be essential in order to prepare them in a tight competition of surviving in the modern era.

Generally, many school leavers would leave school because academic study have not been enjoyed by them. Some have chosen to travel. In this way, they are able to go to new places, meet a lot of people and hence learn about other cultures. It is by travelling that they will learn how to survive in a certain place and learn the skill to communicate with other people. Perhaps by travelling and finding new thing that they will then discover what they want to do later in life. Apart from travelling, working for a period of time will also give school leavers the experience of working which is mostly needed in applying for a professional job. Additionally, if one has a working experience, they may have no difficulty in adapting in real working life comparison to those who do not have working experience at all.

However, there may be disadvantages if school leavers do not consider going university first. It is undeniable that most of job requirement now needed a university qualification so, therefore their chance of getting better job would be lesser. Apart from that, if school leaver would work without further education, it will restrict their movement and understanding about the job that they undertake. For instant, if someone working as a carer without understanding of diseases or medication, then they will only able to look after the ADLs (Activity od Daily Livings)and will not understand if the person that they look after will fall sick. Next, one may feel comfortable working, earning money and building their career life that they may forget about studying in university. In addition, if they wish to go university after a period of working and travelling, they may have difficulty in adjusting to university's assignment and projects.

For the reasons mentioned above, it is not a mandatory that school leavers to go straight to university in a promise of a better job. It is by travelling and gaining working experience that they can discover their interest and career path which hence help them to firmly decide on a proper course to enroll for further study.