In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

School statistics from recent years has shown strong preference of girls for arts subjects and boys for science subjects. Personally, I believe this is mainly due to gender differences. This essay will discuss the reason for this tendency and also whether change would be beneficial, and use examples of Nobel price winners and gender stereotypes that influence subject choices, to demonstrate and describe arguments.

Prejudice and gender stereotypes have huge effect on subject choices of girls and boys. This is because girls have tendency to choose art subjects in false believe that they perform better in art than in science due to gender predisposition. Science subjects are mainly chosen by boys, because they believe that it is more likely for them to succeed in technically and mathematically oriented fields. For example, it is more common to find more women in as beauty assistants than firefighters that typically have more men among themselves. Therefore, it can be observed that gender stereotypes prevail in student choices.

Furthermore, society could prosper more, if a tendency to prefer arts and science subjects among girls and boys were changed. The main reason is that students can perform well in any subject regardless of their gender. Approaches based on different genders in any field can lead to positive outcomes. Take for example Nobel Price winners, many men writers received the price for literature as well as there is an increasing number of women that were rewarded in science. In this instance it has been shown that success is not related to gender, therefore the tendency should be changed.

To conclude, I firmly believe that overcoming gender stereotypes when choosing subjects in school, could in future lead to many positive implications.