In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

According to the traditional belief, men are considered to be the breadwinners whereas women are seen as caregivers and are responsible for taking care of the family. Hence, girls opt for art subjects in schools and colleges whereas boys opt for science subjects. In my opinion, I unquestionably believe that this trend should be changed and both the genders should be given to equal chance to choose subjects according to their interests.

The view that males have the sole responsibility to provide financial support to the family and females as doing the daily household chores is deeply rooted in our society. The society believe in this because of gender-related personalities and competence. Simply stated, boys are considered to have good analytical skills than girls so that is why they opt for subjects like physics, chemistry, and science. Moreover, parents have an age-old belief that girls once married have to become housewives, with this mind they do not persuade them to build a prosperous career as medical doctors or scientists. To illustrate, a research report has depicted that more than 30% of the girls do not take analytical related subjects as it is not appreciated by the family and society

Undoubtedly, this trend should be changed and both the sexes should be treated with equality. Men and women should be given an equal opportunity to choose the course on the basis of their interests. Parents should encourage girls to get higher education and build a successful career. To elucidate, great scientists like Marie Curie, Ada Lovelace have proved that women are no less than men in fields like science and physics.

In conclusion, I vehemently agree that both men and women should be treated impartially by the community and should be motivated to excel in fields like science and physics