Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones Is this a positive development or a negative one

Nowadays smart phones are extremely popular among teenagers. Although there are many benefits of using mobile phones such as learning new things and playing games, schools are restricting their usage due to drawbacks like constant chatting and cyber bullying. In my opinion, the restriction is essential for students as an excess of everything is harmful.

Some parents believe that children should be allowed to carry smart phones because it is the need of an hour. They argue that technology is extremely important for their child and they can learn a lot better by using such devices. Moreover, children are constantly engaged in games on their phones while their parents or teachers are away. For example, a study showed that teenagers spend more time playing video games than sports. Therefore, we can see that there a few advantages to using smart devices among children.

Conversely, if the usage of gadgets is not limited, they may cause a plethora of problems including reduced focus, cyber bullying and lack of activities. The main problem is a distraction during the classroom, for instance, pupils are found chatting during the lectures and not paying attention in the class. Secondly, there is a new crime that is quite popular among young people, that is called cyber bullying which happens on the social media platform. As a result of cyber bullying many students try to escape school and go into the first stage of depression. Thirdly, juniors are found less interactive and active during sports class as they are glued to their handsets. Consequently, to avoid such issues educational institutes have started prohibiting the usage of electronic gadgets inside the campus.

In conclusion, though children will complain about the limitation of using digital devices, institutions would benefit by creating a positive learning environment for all. Overall, I agree, this will lead to a positive development for society in the future and a better learning space for adolescents, that is, with increased focus, reduced online bullying, and more active youth.