Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, advertisements seem to be ubiquitous and unavoidable. While some still believe in the initial goal of advertising which was to inform people of new useful products, others are blaming it for overspending. This essay will argue why the latter argument is becoming more and more true with time.

Advertisements have been used for a long time in modern history. These were conceptualized to basically spread the knowledge of a new or innovative product to a wider population. People realized its benefits in their sales numbers and naturally started using it for more and more products. For example, earlier the general public benefited profoundly through it as they got access to information about various products in the same category and could compare the prices before buying. Consequently, the advertisement industry grew immensely in this win-win situation for both parties.

However, the multi-fold growth of this industry has led us to such a stage where people are able to see a negative side of it. With a lot of options available to us, all the time and advertisements being made in such an attractive way that people often buy things which they would have never otherwise bought. Nowadays, advertisements are creating artificial demands in people's minds which leads to overspending and unmanageable finances. For instance, social media is a platform for online advertisements and it has made people extravagant. Moreover, in earlier times, less money was spent on buying mobile phones, but now the sales have gone up, due to ads. These could eventually lead to unhealthy lifestyles and create undue stress among the population.

In conclusion, this essay discussed two contrasting viewpoints on advertisements where some people agree on its benefits to improve our lives while the other group advocates on its potentially harmful effects; like overspending. In my opinion, the side-effects of advertisements are becoming more real these days.