Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching languages to young children outweigh the disadvantages? Give your own opinion and examples.

Now many schools have started adding a foreign language in the school curriculum. Languages like French, German, Italian are most common. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of teaching a second language to students and provide a logical conclusion.

To begin, with, today’s generation children are learning new things rapidly. The main advantage of learning a new language is that chances of getting selected for a job in a different country are high. Being bilingual helps to get a job in a different nation with a good salary package. For instance, the recent survey has shown that people who learned an additional language in school time are more happy in their job as a comparison to the people who are monolingual.

Besides the advantages, there are some disadvantages also. First, some students found difficult to learn a second language with other subjects. Second, some have scored less in their main subjects due to the overburden of learning a foreign language. For example, a questionnaire survey report has proved that students are getting depressed while learning another language with their other subjects.

In my opinion, learning a second language will be beneficial in the future. I think it is easy to communicate with other countries people if students have fluency in a foreign language and also getting a job is easy.

To conclude, learning an additional language has some disadvantages like overburden and difficulty in learning but it has an extremely positive influence on student’s growth. I believe that these benefits learning a second language outweigh its drawbacks.