In some societies, it is increasingly common to try to achieve good health and fitness through physically demanding sports, special diets, or preventative medicine conventional or alternative. Some people, however, believe that the best way to stay fit and healthy is simply to lead a normal life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently the phenomenon of overall health and fitness has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by some, many believe that following latest sport and diet trends alongside utilizing additives as well as employing extreme methods in order to achieve the goal are justified by the benefits. While there are certain noticeable hazards to incautious or wrong practices, I profoundly believe that a supervised and well managed doctrine can in fact benefit the practitioner greatly.

From a social standpoint, a fit person portrays an undeniably superior image and generally benefit from a higher self-confidence and charisma. Regardless of the health benefits of being fit, people have demonstrated that they tend to be inclined towards the propagated idols of beauty. Now that the fashion industry has been obsessed with skinny and slender models, we witness the growingly important issue of body image and fitness levels. This alongside the medical sciences discoveries of the past few centuries, has created a tide with positive motives of acquiring the optimum physique. This relatively new trend is visible starkly through the means of social media platforms and surveys. However, it should not be neglected that this issue can be detrimental towards either people suffering from certain illnesses therefore unable to lose weight or push their bodies over the limits to achieve this so called standards, both psychologically and socially. All in all, while not exclusively, people who have more mindful of their health, body as well as their posture and fitness have been thriving in numerous aspects of their live.

However, the counts of negative issues arising from this mindset are overwhelmingly unprecedented. Extreme sports, over the top diets, heavy medication and many more methods of weight loss can be gravely harmful. Anorexia is becoming an epidemic amongst the youth, which is worrisome for the medical society. Seemingly unrelated health issues are actually closely connected with prolonged nutritional attritions, commercial weight-loss drug complications as well as intense exercises and workouts. An unmoderated plan, combined with a stubborn desire for good health or fitness often has backfired and caused more trauma. Many incidents have been reported regarding toxic supplements, injuries during extended or non-standard workouts or internal organ shut-down induced by pursuing overrated criterion. As this pattern is unceasingly growing, it seems that there is a profound need for knowledge promotion and enlightenment regarding overall health, levels of fitness and practical solutions to being overweight. Without proper organized action, the situation is bound to deteriorate and will incur tremendous losses.

To conclude, while there are valid arguments on both sides, I can ascertain this new trend is positive by nature and promotes good health and body awareness. While there are naturally some downsides to malpractice or unwise decisions, increasing our commitment to our health and body is undoubtedly a positive movement. Therefore, I would recommend to keep abreast of the transformation while keeping an eye out for unwanted complications or disasters.