In some societies the number of crime committed by teenager is growing Some people think that regardless of age teenagers who commit major crime should receive adult punishment To what extend do you agree

The new generation’s moral values are deteriorating day by day and juvenile crime rate has skyrocketed in various parts of the world. Although, there are people who advocate to punish teenagers equally as those of adults. Others argue against this approach and point out to assess in the context of crime. I strongly disagree with this idea of teenagers obtaining punishment and in this essay, I will defend my opinion with the help of certain examples.

Firstly, the teenagers during this phase of life have been experiencing changes in their body and thought process. Most of the things are usually not clear to them and they would be doing a variety of activities without any wrong intention. This attitude sometime leads them to commit a crime accidently. For example, one of my friends was at a shooting competition and during the cleaning of guns the bullet shot a worker in the facility. What I mean is that he did not had any intention of killing anyone, but it happened inadvertently.

Another reason why I disagree with the punishment of youngsters as that of adults. Teenagers are not a serious threat to society and might need guidance to be useful to the society. The punishment may permanently offend them, and they might never return to normal life. Considering the argument, young people quickly adapt to the environment and keeping them with criminals will lead them deeper into the crime’s world. To sum up, all teenagers would start to think the world ends here and jail is our home where we have our friends.

On the other hand, there are some people who believe young people should be punished for their crimes. So that punishment can rehabilitate the offender. E.g, there are cases where the inmates studied during punishment and never re-offended again once they returned to their normal life.

In conclusion, I would say that teenagers should not be treated in the same way as adult criminals. Although, many believe that crime is crime and young people should be punished accordingly. Since the punishment is soft and did not serve to deter crime. We should search more effective ways of punishment so that offenders should be beneficial for the society.