Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things.

What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Nowadays, it is widely acknowledged that children spend more time watching television and less time participating in active or creative activities. This phenomenon can be ascribed to a number of factors and some feasible measures should be implemented.

The increase in the amount of time spent on watching television can be attributed to a wealth of causes. First, lack of parental supervision can be to blame for this issue. Working parents who usually have a hectic schedule may have little time to care for their families. Therefore, they have to leave their children at home and watch TV freely. Second, the heavy school workload restraints students from taking part in active and creative tasks. Schools have the tendency to put a heavy emphasis on academic subjects such as Maths and Physics, which marginalizes the importance of non-academic disciplines. Therefore, students may not have the opportunities to enjoy creative and active activities.

Some viable methods can be adopted to put a stop to this trend. On the school level, teachers should include more non-academic courses in the curriculum and introduce more extra-curriculum activities. For instance, a trip to a rural with various art activities such as singing or drawing would not only encourage students to be more active and energetic but also cultivate their creativity. On the parental level, parents should interact with children more often despite their tight schedules. By setting aside some time in the evening or on the weekend, parents could join them with recreational and art activities.

In conclusion, heavy school curriculum and absence of parental care are the driving causes of excessive television watching and lack of active and creative tasks. Schools and parents should shoulder the responsibilities to address this issue effectively.