Studies suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than
they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons?
What measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?
Different studies have shown that the trend of watching television by children has tremendously increased
as compared to the past and now they give less time to doing creative things. This essay will explain that
the primary reason of this is due to a greater availability of TV channels, and the best solution to tackle
this problem is to educate parents how to control their children.
The main reason why children watch more television nowadays is an increased number of cartoon channels
being broadcasted on television. In the past, there used to be a limited number of TV channels that would
broadcast cartoons for children, but now many new companies have stepped in the television industry. As a result,
children waste more of their time in watching these programmes as they feel amused by the interesting stories presented in such programmes.
For instance, in my childhood, I used to watch cartoons only for 20 minutes every day because there was only one channel presenting
cartoons for children.
A long term solution to this predicament is to launch a public campaign educating parents about parenting skills.
Parents should be taught about the dangers of losing control on their children. One way to have more control on children
is to motivate them by offering rewards on the completion of specific tasks requiring their active participation.
Children are likely to take interest in such activities if they know that they will get the things they like. A recent
study by the Khaleej Times has shown that parents who learned about parenting skills were successfull to motivate their children
in completing their homeworks timely.
In conclusion, the main cause of young people giving more time to TV is a wide range of cartoon programmes, and this issue
can be overcome by teaching parents about good parenting skills.