To succeed in a business, one needs to know maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Knowledge of numbers has contributed to the success of entrepreneurs. While this notion may be reasonable for some businessmen, I believe that for many successful companies nowadays, employers do not need to do calculations themselves.

Apparently, basic fundamental skills of maths play an integral role in operating a business, and there are two reasons to substantiate it. Firstly, an enormous number of calculations have to be conducted to determine the prices of products that are both appealing to buyers and sufficient to make the business financially healthy. Without the financial counting of all expenditures, the businessman can easily be overcharged or undercharged customers for his services or goods. Secondly, to maximize the profits, the owner needs to make the system as cost-efficient as possible. To do this, he or she needs statistical knowledge to make decisions of where and how capital should be allocated.

However, in my viewpoint, if numerical skills are not one's forte it does not mean that he or she can run a successful business. The first reason for my argument is that employers can hire trusted employees to take charge of the accounting job. In the corporate world, it is common that the business owner is not the one who works with figures in his company as they hire accountants to take care of such kind of work. Another compelling reason is that delegating the bookkeeping work to subordinates might be an advisable practice. By doing this, the entrepreneurs can save time and cognitive space for important decisions such as launching new products or coming up with new business ideas.

By way of conclusion, although it is true that general skills of maths could be vital for a business to prosper, I do not think that a business owner needs to adept the mathematical experience as they can hire a wise bookkeeper to do the job, so, the owners can come up with new strategies to make their business success in terms of expansion and growth.