Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical places are one of the most visited sites by tourists every year as they depict the history and cultural heritage of a particular region. However, it has been noticed that such premises are generally visited by holidaymakers whereas the number of local visitors is very low. This essay will discuss the reason why it is happening and put forward a solution for this issue.

Two major factors are behind the declination of local visitors to such buildings. The first is the gradual change in the trend and mindset opted by the people, especially youngsters. In this contemporary world of modernization, individuals tend to spend their spare time with their friends and family by visiting public places like shopping malls, theaters, et cetera, because they consider them to be more entertaining whereas historical buildings to be monotonous. The second factor is the hectic schedule of all age groups. Whenever people get some free time, they prefer to pass it by sitting at their homes rather than going out anywhere, whereas the tourists already have a spare time to schedule their visits to these places. So, Museums and other history-related buildings are more famous among tourists than local folks.

Tackling this issue involves altering the mindset of public. This needs to happen via refurbishment of the buildings by government in order to enhance the interest of public in these. For example, government authorities should make these sites look attracting by carrying out necessary renovations like wall painting, establishing new sculptures, et cetera. Also, government should provide the facilities like discount on tickets or parking while entering these buildings. That is why; proper steps are needed to be taken by the authorities to broaden the number of visitors.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the reason as to why the number of local visitors is generally less than out-of-towner and suggested some possible solutions to overcome this issue. However, in my opinion, until efforts are made this trend will only escalate.