In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Along with the rapid development of technology, new practices such as storing user's personal data online by conglomerates has been a controversial topic. While some claim that this practices brings benefits for both users and companies, some argue that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages associated with it.

On one hand, the art of maintaining a system to gather and store personal information is beneficial in certain aspects. First and foremost, it would be easier for enterprises to meet customer's need since all the data about them is available online, better products would be made to satisfy individual demand. In addition, online transitions would be faster than ever, especially people who have electronic wallet which save them a lot of time and effort since they do not have to bring cash to pay for their purchase anymore. Users have the flexibility in choosing product, such as the ability to order and pay for services or products at home with simple and easy steps. For example, users can stay at home during the pandemic and order commodities, then their purchase history is stored on the system and when they reach a specific payment goal they get a discount or a gift.

On the other hand, I am with those who advocates that keeping personal data is a detrimental practice . One obvious disadvantage is that big companies which hold a massive source of personal information could sell it to advertisement agencies. Then these agencies would bombard users with continuous commercials whenever they are online which is disturbing and forces users to twitch to new devices. Moreover, despite the convenient of credit card, online wallet which contain valuable personal data could be stolen in a matter of seconds if users were not paying attention. Hackers would illegally withdraw money from their victim's bank account and leave them in debt or force them to do what they said in order to have their data back

In sum, although the advantages of holding personal data is undeniable, the drawbacks associated with it is worth considering. Especially in the modern day, when it is easy to access other's information, not only for good purpose such as provide convenient, save people's time but also bad purpose like scamming.