'Telecommuting' refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

It is true that visual and audio systems of the cyber-space have revolutionised the way of communication in the workplace. People are influenced in different ways as telecommunication technology was introduced in their jobs, and I firmly believe that it not only has been beneficial to trading, but to medicine and engineering.

Obviously, many businesspersons can connect to their partners or customers through the web. They can talk to them via their webcam at their home, without being necessary to appear in their office. As a prime example, a U.S investor can communicate with his partner in China through Skype, and even order and check out the items being bought or sold from home. As a result, he can save the time which is needed to commute between his home and office.

Another field of usage of this technology is in medicine. To have access to the latest information of their patients, many doctors can check them via their personal laptop or cell phone. For instance, as a cardiologist, I have to visit plenty of people every day. Some tasks can be handled from home, like checking of laboratory results; therefore, it is not necessary I stay in the hospital to see them. Had not this technology been invented, doctors would not have saved their precious time.

Lastly, this innovation has tremendously been useful for engineers. Clearly, to design their constructions, they can operate part of their work in their home, while they had to spend several hours a day at their office to observe their project in the past. In particular, my brother who works for a U.S mobile company in Australia can handle most parts of his duty from home, and his manager can see the results on the screen of his computer at the same time.

In my opinion, the society would be greatly benefitted from the gradual increase of telecommuting by the professionals. People will get their necessary services staying from home while the business growth would expand. People would no longer need to travel a long distance to attend a meeting and this will save their time that they can spend with their family members. Thus telecommuting would make a better social bonding hence people would have more spare time to do social activities.

In brief, modernization in computer systems has assisted many professionals to work from their home. From my point of view, telecommunication has been and will become a leading system in many professions, including medicine, trading and engineering.