There are fewer controls over the designs and construction of home and office buildings. So, people can build them however they like. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that city’s administrations have lack of control over real estate development. Therefore, citizens are able to construct in any style they wish. This tendency has positive as well as negative consequences.

To begin with, the opportunity to make a decision about concept of a future building without strict supervision is beneficial in terms of creativity and freedom. Especially, as a person who is doing the project of a house is creative and innovative, it can bring a special charm to a city. For instance, Paris became well known for the Eifel’s tower, even though it cannot be seen as suitable for the general plan of a city. As well as this, there are more examples in history when a construction became city’s card because of its unusual appearance. If development of an area were controlled, this unique architecture would never see a light.

However, strict regulation of house building can be profitable in terms of convenience and comfort. In some cities, such as planned cities due to Garden city concept, a person constructing a house should not build more than 3-4 storey building as well as cutting surrounding trees is forbidden. Thus, it is fair if someone wants to live in the area should obey its rules. Due to compliance with construction regulations, there are absolutely friendly, safe and lovely cities around the world. Personally, I always dreamed to live in this kind of a city, they are charming.

In conclusion, controlling of a house building has both merits and demerits. In my opinion, whole development of any city should be planned by authorities, but for the people should be left room for the creativity.