There is a big influence of peer groups on children’s behaviour. Do advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? What can be done about it?

Human is a social animal that willingly or unwillingly tends to socialise with others aiming to initiate a relationship where an exchange of traits is highly likely to happen. Most often, youngsters in school share a symbiotic relationship, which potentially affects their overall development in numerous ways. Debatably, a logical explanation of mutual trait exchange among students is quite subtle; however, simplified merits and demerits are detailed in forthcoming paragraphs.

Irrefutably, a companion’s influence plays a colossal role in the overall development of child’s conscience and personality while its positivity relies on the quality of fellowship. Moreover, since most of the learners improvise themselves being on the ground of friendly competency among peers, a student’s academics and communication capabilities are pivotally reliant on peers as well. This potentially portrays the need of an academically favourable companionship for a school-goer. Despite lucid benefits of having an advantageous social circle in school, circumstantial factors hindering conscience may sometimes lead youngsters towards the bad company.

Consequently, the peer pressure from an unfavourable social ground has significantly more adverse effects than the benefits of landing in a good company. The most basic categorization of children can vividly be based on the level of dominance. While initial goal of majority of students is improvised grades, highly dominant students have been noted to have forcibly influenced other students into off-goal activities like smoking, alcohol consumption etcetera. Moreover, peer pressure caused flunks have been vividly evident in most schools as an outcome of symbiotically toxic friendships that children fall into.

Summing up, I believe that merits and demerits of peer influence is unconditionally dependent on the person’s choice of friends. Looking onto the solution, parents must find themselves responsible for keeping a check on their offspring’s company to ensure better upbringing, because the destructive possibilities of child’s career by dominant peers outweigh the potential benefits of a good amity.