Some people think that hosting international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Sports entertainment is one of the industries that generate a huge amount of revenue for the country. Whether it is soccer in the United States or Cricket in Indian subcontinent, the amount of audience is colossal. While some people see such sports events to be fruitful for the country, others find it to be more detrimental than beneficial. The essay will scrutinize both the aspects before venturing a conclusion, followed by personal opinion.

Given the mass fan-following of sports stars, people from all around the world travel to a common destination to watch their favourite player be victorious. Consequently, the country’s economy rises with leaps and bounds because such events get global media coverage and sponsorships. Moreover, the audience and participants reach the venue well in advance and enjoy the local facilities such as hotels and other attractions, which give a boost to the tourism industry of the hosting nation.

While there are obvious fiscal benefits of sports events to the country, there are some adverse environmental effects. The aftermath of such events does not get enough attention over the global media. Although these events create a jolly environment around the city, the local people suffer as a result of littering and pollution. The denizens have to deal with the consequent situation and it takes a while to get back to normal as happened in Tokyo after 2021 Olympics.

Summing up, there are pros and cons to a country hosting a global event. While the government enjoys the revenue, they should not forget about the citizens. So, I opine that there should be a balance between all factors such that the hazards are minimised and the pros are enjoyed with the collaborative efforts of authorities and the locals.