There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the results that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or bad thing?

In today’s world, materials like music, films, books etc are being copied and are freely available on the internet. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing depends on the advantages and disadvantages of having all these materials readily available on the internet for people to access.

The main advantages, in my opinion, is that the internet provides a one-stop shop for meeting peoples requirements. People can access all these materials, depending on their interests, from the comfort of their homes. This not only keeps them engaged but also helps in enhancing their knowledge. After all “An empty brain is a devil’s workshop.” Some of these materials act as inspiration to youngsters and by using their creativity and capabilities, they may create a unique material that may either result in a future career or become a source of revenue for them.

The disadvantages of having all these materials readily available on the internet are numerous and depend on how these materials are used. Firstly, some of these materials are a source of revenue for the person owning the copyright and the potential to earn maximum revenue is curtailed as people can access these on the internet without a charge. Secondly, the easy accessibility also makes these materials vulnerable to mis-use and the risk of being copied. The originality and efforts of the person owning the copyright is thus threatened.

Based on the above, I am of the opinion that it is not a bad thing for these materials to be readily available on the internet.