The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

An empty mind is a devil's workshop. Most teenagers today do not have any ambition in life and thus resort to crime to fulfil their needs. This phenomena is not only restricted to under developing countries but appears to be a global one. This essay will discuss the main reasons contributing to the increased crime rates in youngsters and suggest a viable solution.

One of the prime reasons for increase in crime rates in youngsters is the breakdown in family relationships. Divorce rates are high in the modern world and it is the mother who usually gets the custody of the child. The child in his growing years does not have a role model to follow. They while away their time and are often influenced by the media and what they see on television. Advertisements creates a desire to own the top end brands and lack of money to meet these desires entices them to earn quick money by committing crimes. Some youngsters fall into bad company and are often misled into committing crimes to earn easy money.

A solution to this worrying problem is for the government to adopt a carrot and stick approach wherein good behaviours is rewarded and bad behaviour is punished. Apprenticeship programmes in various fields should also be set up to keep the youngsters engaged and give them a sense of responsibility. This will provide youngsters with a source of livelihood and most probably prevent them from committing crimes. Parents also have a crucial role to play. They should mould and nurture the child so that he can decipher between right and wrong from an early age. In families where there is no father figure, a male relative probably take on the responsibility of nurturing the child.

Therefore, there are various reasons for this rise in crime, but solutions are available. If we begin to tackle the issue now, we may be able to prevent the situation from declining further.