THERE SEEMS TO BE AN INCREASING NUMBER OF SERIOUS CRIMES COMMITTED EACH YEAR. WHILE SOME THINK THE BEST WAY IS TO USE THE DEATH PENALTY AS A DETERRENT, MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT OTHER MEASURES WILL BE NEEDED.

DISCUSS BOTH SIDES.

There is a rapid incline in severe offenses, which are committed every year. Although it is perceived by one section of society that an optimum solution is to give death sentence to the criminal as a punishment, others consider that there are different steps that can be taken to handle this menace. This essay will elucidate both perspectives of society in the upcoming paragraphs.

On one hand, the verdict of the death sentence is the right method to ameliorate the threatening environment among people. As offenders can get bail easily after arrest for a serious crime, so they commit another crime with detrimental effects on humans. If culprits are sentenced for death, then other criminals are unable to commit crime making fear of themselves in the heart of individuals. For instance, in Assam, one of the states of India, rapists are charged with death penalty, which results in declining a large number of such culprits; hence, women residing over there feel more secure and safe.

On the other hand, there are numerous solutions that can be taken to improve the social condition. Firstly, multifarious job opportunities will be provided to youth for their holistic development and growth, which will stop them from convicting crimes namely robbery, drug trafficking and many more to earn easy money. Secondly, the government can focus on prevention of crime rather than introducing harsher prison or death sentences to offenders. This is only be done by giving rehabilitation and community services to the criminals who are in a prison so that they will not re-offend after releasing from jail.

To conclude, it is believed by some people that death is a rigorous penalty for criminals to halt the crimes; however, others think that numerous steps such as employment opportunities will be taken by the government to overcome serious offenses.