IN MANY COUNTRIES, VERY FEW YOUNG PEOPLE READ NEWSPAPERS OR FOLLOW THE NEWS ON TV. WHAT DO YOU THINK ARE THE CAUSES OF THIS? WHAT SOLUTIONS CAN YOU SUGGEST?

Due to the development of technology, youth is focusing less on general awareness. Reading newspapers or watching the television news, in large countries, is not being done by many youngsters. The multifarious causes of this notion along with solutions are discussed in this essay.

To begin with the causes, mostly youngsters are spending their most times on internet. Owing to this, they are using not only various sites such as Face-book and Twitter, but also playing online games on their mobiles namely Pub-G and Eight ball pool. This will, consequently, make them busy with these technology inventions and unable to read the news articles. Moreover, hard study routines of children are the other major reason of not following the news. Many students, especially the medical ones, are attending various tuition centers for different subjects, due to which they are left with no time for getting general awareness by watching news channels.

Nevertheless, there are different solutions which can be opted to handle this situation. Firstly, in schools, teachers should arrange competitive quizzes on current news of national and international level for children with fascinating rewards, which will ultimately help pupils to read newspapers and listen to different news articles, and will increase their general knowledge. Secondly, numerous social sites use by youngsters such as Face-book have to visualize the news articles in interactive ways that will take their interest to read more about that particular news. Hence, they will become aware of their surroundings and follow the news more.

To conclude, busy study timetables and use of social sites by youngsters are reasons for reading less news articles; however, efforts by teachers and showing news contents by social sites can help in large extent to increase the number of readers and viewers of newspaper and television respectively.