These days it is very common to have people from two different generations mix in the same workplace. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this situation? Give your own opinion and include relevant examples.

For any organization to be successful, there is a need to have a blend of experience and creativity. The trend of comprising a coalesce of youth with the experienced lot is gaining popularity. In my perspective, this merge is a wonderful method for adopting a holistic approach towards development and has more pros than cons. The upcoming paragraphs will elaborate the reasons behind, merits outshine the demerits, of the aforesaid trend.

The major demerit of having a mix of old and young employees is that, it may lead to insecurity in the aged. For example, older employees may feel deprived of respect and importance in the organization with the influx of young graduates, thereby, affecting their morale fiercely.

On the flip side, a combination of two generations at a workplace fosters a learning environment at work, as employers usually opt to hire freshers to work economically, but freshers usually lack the know-how of the organisation, in this scenario old employees have a crucial role to play. For example, experienced personnel assist the younger generation in acquiring essential knowledge to execute their task effectively and may pamper them during the initial days in the company. Thereby, creating a supporting ambience within the organisation. Furthermore, old generations are experts in their field and have tackled enormous difficulties at work and this expertise can be imbibed by newer generations while taking crucial decisions during work time. Therefore, guidance from older employees is clamant for the younger employees.

To recapitulate, I would reckon that, a medley of younger generation and older pupil is quite crucial in ensuring efficient growth of any company.