These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

The teaching profession, especially for the secondary students, nowadays has become less popular than ever before due to a plethora of reasons such as lowering in the financial benefits, and the colossal time and effort to deal with various pupils’ attitude in order to deliver optimal results. this essay aims to explore the challenges that face such an occupation as well as the solutions which might mitigate this problem.

To begin with, there is no doubt that the salary is very important factor for people to live normally. However, there is a conspicuous wages variation between most of the professions and teaching, as it ranked in the lower salary ladder. Syrian teachers, for example, earn very low payment compared to other professions such as engineers, pharmacists and doctors, which might reach only $300 monthly, while other specialties might be started from $800. Therefore, most of the teachers force to working extra hours in different fields such as waiters and taxi driver to cope with the high cost of living there. The second reason being the poor respect and appreciation by their students. it’s irrefutable that most of the pupils particularly in the secondary schools are still immature and adolescents. Thus, their attitude might be very rude against their

As a result, teachers might be under massive stress which might affect their health. Finally, teachers expend most of their personal and leisure time correcting their students' exams and assignments. this leaves them with little time for a social or private life or an adequate work/life balance leading to burnout, being stressed and overworked.

On the flip side, plenty of solutions might overcome the obvious reluctance of working in such a profession. First of all, teachers' salaries must be amended to match with the real-life expenses. second of all, schools should apply strict measures against impolite students. this pivotal action, in fact, might help them to revise their disciplines and makes them respectful and productive in the future. Lastly, in terms of delivering high education quality, schools should maintain the life-work balance for their tutors by providing an adequate working load which does interferes in their free-time.

To sum up, the teaching profession is a very significant occupation. Nevertheless, many people avoid it because of the poor financial benefits as well as it needs huge efforts which sometimes impact on people life. Yet, there are some solutions might help in mitigating this issue.