These days many families move abroad for work. Some people believe that this benefits the children in these families. Others believe that it makes their lives more difficult.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Immigration to another country is a common risk taken by many families these days. However, the impact of such a step on the children of immigrating families is still controversial; while some people think it would affect them positively, others do not. This essay will discuss both viewpoints in details and argue that travelling abroad is beneficial for children.

On the one hand, moving to a foreign country is thought to be a positive progress in children’ lives. Many families relocate to more developed nations where they can find a better job or advance their career further, mainly to earn more money to spend it on their families, improving their standard of living in almost every aspect. For instance, education systems, medical care, nutritional regimens are without a doubt better in these nations compared to the less developed counterparts. When children gain to get access to such privileges, their current and future lives will be impacted immensely in positive way.

On the other hand, many others believe that when families move to another country, their children suffer. After all, adjusting to live in a new place is a tedious process to go through even for adults. Language barrier, cultural differences, or even the religious beliefs are all few examples that children will have to face and cope with to ultimately access the privileges of another country. However, the pressure is sometimes excessively high to be dealt with leading to social and psychological problems not only to the youngest, but to adults as well. To illustrate, a recent report released by Health Canada, revealed that around 40% of immigrants, mostly below 16 years old, suffer isolation and depression disorders that profoundly deteriorate their academic performances and social skills.

To conclude, although better live promises for our offspring might seduce many parents to travel abroad, success and improved quality of life are not always granted. Yet, personally, such a risk worth taking because I believe the immediate struggles can never outweigh the long-term benefits.