These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Globalization is at its peak, and people have found their calling in broadened prospects, offered in countries abroad. A more favorable career opportunity, a recognized qualification or a mere choice of better lifestyle, are luring citizens to migrate to different parts of the world. Although it has been proved advantageous to a majority, there are growing numbers of those who face the downside of leaving their homeland.

The perks of immigrating evidently outshine the opportunities available in the residential country. Youngsters opting for short-term exchange programmes, or representing their country at an international conference, get a chance to learn a great deal about other nations and their cultures. Globetrotters seek enriching experiences pertaining to various local delicacies, clothing style, mannerism and even languages spoken in different regions.

World-renowned universities are attracting a large number of students who want to acquire higher qualifications, in order to land high-paying job profiles. Businessmen with a view to expanding, enter international markets have increasingly become successful. Choosing a foreign location could be either for a short period to add to their desired results or with an intent, to settle down for good.

Migrators move to developed countries, as the standard of living is qualitative. The benefits of being a citizen of a first world country are considered as a matter of pride and convenience. With awareness of customs and trends followed by many nationalities, one is able to respect the differences in opinion and co-exist peacefully.

However, once away from their birthplace, some people are put through the trauma of racial and religious discrimination. Unemployment, deprivation of better opportunities, language barriers are a struggling phase for a few. A constant reminder of being an outsider and the reluctance to blend into the new culture are some of the common problems, immigrants meet.

I believe that that moving to a foreign country could open doors to serendipity, but prospering and contributing to one's motherland, and its betterment is a duty of every responsible citizen.