These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society, which means people use things in a short time and then throw them away. Causes and problems.

In the contemporary era, consumerism has been flourishing at alarming rates. Considering this, people prefer products for a short period of time and after some time they put them in dustbins. The main reasons for this trend have a lot of variety of products as well as a high remuneration of people. Pollution and limited access to resources are the main problems that arise from this issue.

To begin with, wider range of variety in every type of product is the most prominent cause. This is because with cutting-edge technology it has become easier for manufacturers producing things: clothes, toys, and utensils in unlimited supply. Another reason is the increased wages of employees which makes them convenient investing heavily in goods without thinking even a second thought. After getting remuneration, rather than saving it, people tend to spend an exorbitant amount of money on manufacturing goods. Despite the fact that they have already an adequate supply of things, they just want to satisfy their inner needs because they are highly fascinated by those things and are more likely to buy them.

The major problems that arise are pollution and limited resources. Most of the materialistic things are made of plastics which is a non-biodegradable and can remain in the soil upto millions of years, consequently, deteriorate the health of sea animals as most of the garbage is put in the rivers. Moreover, products are manufactured from natural resources. When these are made in tremendous amounts, leading to the destruction of resources owing to which there would be limited access.

To conclude, throwaway society is becoming popular, but it gives rise to various problems such as climate change and diminishing of natural resources. The reasons for these problems are greater access to choices and high incomes.