Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? Is this a positive or a negative change?

Nowadays screen time is becoming increasing at an alarming rate among children compared to the past era. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward evidence as to why it is a negative trend.

There are certain reasons why the screen time between children has tremendously increased than in the past. The prime reason is that the school timing has been shortened and children are not allowed to go outside to play due to COVID 19 pandemic. Therefore, kids are coming back from school quite early and spending the rest of their time on the screen. A recent article claims that an average youngster is spending 35% of his/her extra time to watch TV because of the lockdown imposed by the government in distinct countries. Finally, it has been pointed out that parents are working remotely due to restrictions, and they generally give a free hand to children to spend time on the TV so, they would not get disturbed while working from home.

This trend has had more negative than positive effects on youngsters. Continuously watching TV will effect the wellbeing and eyesight of teenagers. For instance, the obesity ratio between youngsters has dramatically risen in the past years which can lead to additional health problems. Children should participate in physical activities at home despite restrictions to go outside so they would become healthier. Therefore, parents to allocate a designated area at home where children could play physical games such as cricket, football, or table tennis. Also, they should limit the screen time so, they would not become unhealthy.

In conclusion, I believe both fewer hours at school and remotely work of parents due to the COVID 19 pandemic are the reasons for children to spend much more time on TV. However, the screen time will affect the youngster’s health; therefore, parents to restrict their TV time and provide inhouse physical activities to become healthier.