Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, celebrities make more handsome income compared to politicians. This essay will discuss why this is happening and provide evidence as to why political leaders earn less money than celebrities’ figures. In my view, this is a negative development which can bring corruption and an unbalanced society.

There are certain persuasive arguments of why political leaders make less money compared to celebrities. The prime reason is that politicians came into power by taking an oath that they won’t get involved in business to earn extra income, and they are limited to their monthly salary from the government. Whereas, celebrities’ figures do not have bounding to sign only one contract at a time; therefore, it is widely believed that they could earn much more income than politicians. A final reason is that politicians are accountable to the general public, and if they got assets beyond means then it would be difficult for them to justify the source of income. Hence, many governments have decided to limit their perks and benefits to avoid criticism from the public.

I believe that it is a negative development because of two primary reasons. Firstly, it has been pointed out that this enormous earning gap between them could lead to the potential corruption scandal in the countries. A recent article suggests that 70% of political figures are involved in money laundering and bribery cases to cover the above-mentioned disparity. Secondly, it is sometimes said that less earning will not motivate political figures to perform their job efficiently; therefore, institutes will become weaker in the country, as a result, society will be unstable with the high number of crime rates.

In conclusion, although celebrities make a higher income than politicians because they have a wider income of sources available to them compared to political figures. However, I believe it is a negative trend that may lead to political corruption, inefficiency, and an unstable society.