Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is one of the most important and influential issues in selling products. Accordingly, many people think that selling more consumer goods is based on their promotional effect and not on the basis of buyers' needs. Although we are increasingly surrounded by advertising which force people to make informed decisions to buy a product, but I would also argue that we do need most of the goods that we buy. I partially agree with the latter opinion though I want to examine this point of view from both sides.

First and foremost, it can be seen that advertisement agencies nowadays have become extremely clever in convincing people to buy certain products. Many people are making purchases that simply do not reflect any of their personal or household needs. A second point is that many advertising agencies are now using subliminal messages to convince consumers subconsciously to buy products that they may not really want. For instance, cosmetics products always target women attention to buy some goods which are not useful and are not needed. Thus, it goes without saying that this viewpoint is credible and realistic too.

On the contrary, it is often argued that the benefits of advertisement considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that there are many products competing for the consumer undivided attention. It is also possible to say that there are a lot of new useful products coming out every day, and the only way to know more information about them is through advertisements. One good illustration of this is the promotion of new medications to prescribing doctors and educating them about the benefits of these medications to patients. Therefore, it is easy to see why this argument has gained support.

Above all, after having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel that the only logical conclusion is that advertising plays an important role, not only for the business, but also for the customer. Howbeit being under the influence of advertising depends on human personalities to make informed decisions regarding a certain product outweigh their disadvantages. Hence, I am somehow inclined to the opinion that advertisement is beneficial to the society.