Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, it is undeniable that commercializing tends to play a crucial role in the over-consumerism of unnecessary merchandises in the community. however, this is not the only reason for the phenomenon, individuals' financial status and online shopping are main contributors as well.

Firstly, advertising with its various types starting with television commercials, internet pop-ups and even street billboards undoubtedly have a significant effect on one's subconscious. To exemplify the state, imagine that a company has launched a huge advertising campaign using the diverse means of advertising to one of its newly released products. Once the consumers see this advertised gadget in the markets they probably tend to buy it even if it is unnecessarily needed.

Secondly, most of the individuals, especially in developed countries, have high standards of living which derive them to go shopping to counteract their unpleasant temper which is called '' Retail Therapy''. A scientific study conducted by researchers of marketing in Melbourne university indicates that '' Retail Therapy'' has become a tendency among teens so they started to incorporate the state of happiness and convenience with the product being promoted which consequently have a considerably positive effect on the sales rate.

Lastly, online shopping made the whole process easy, that is just a few clicks on the items you want, and they will be delivered to home without incurring the discomfort of traffic to reach the shops.

To conclude, in my opinion, advertising should not be accused solely for the state of buying unimportant goods among the community's individuals. the financial and the emotional state surely have a significant effect.