Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays, travelling to challenging places are getting overwhelming popularity. People are visiting places where access is not convenient. These expeditions provide them with an opportunity to unleash the strengths to survive in stark conditions. However, injuries and deaths are significant downsides.

The benefits of travelling to these sites are to discover the inner-strengths to survive in harsh conditions. To clarify, visiting and staying at these places require a lot of courage, fitness, mental and physical strengths. Hence, this all provides a person with an opportunity to prepare himself before leaving for such kind of expeditions. This, in turn, helps a person to instil and adopt these qualities for a lifetime. Moreover, people come across many difficult circumstances during their visit, where they have to take decisions in the spur of the moment when the situation goes against the plans. Therefore, improvement in decision-making skills can also be associated as a significant benefit.

However, there are downsides for these kinds of expeditions as well. To being with, in these locations, often, people come across with extreme conditions, from blood-freezing cold weather to scorching heat. Hence, most of the people cannot adopt these conditions and get themselves ill. Furthermore, many people get injured while visiting these places, and many lose a major body part due to non-availability of first-aid. For instance, according to the statistics published by PALTA, on average, 25 people lost their lives while travelling to the base camp of K2 last year.

To conclude, the evidence cited above provide enough support that visiting these places promotes fitness and a healthy lifestyle along with the development of courage. However, these all traits come with a cost of losing lives and major body parts.