Today, the younger and older generations are in the same workplace. Is this more an advantage or more disadvantage?

Nowadays, new and old generations are working in the same organization, which is beneficial for an organization in terms of knowledge transfer from one generation to another and for workplace diversity. However, despite these advantages, there are some drawbacks of having multiple generations in the same company.

There are numerous advantages to a multi-generational workplace. First and foremost, problem-solving becomes easier when ideas and solutions come from young and experienced employees. In other words, juvenile’s creativity and adult’s experience pave the way for better decision making. Further merit is knowledge can be shared from old to new employees, which facilitates business to uphold its brand values in the long run. For instance, International brands, such as Coca-cola and Mercedes Benz, are maintaining their brand reputations not only for their product quality but also by combining their work with young and old employees. Finally, Work culture becomes more dynamic owing to the diversified mindset of a different generation and this dynamism has already been exemplified by the employees in a company from Generation Z, Millennials and Baby boomers.

On the other hand, multiple generations in the same work station have a number of drawbacks. The main demerit is that this type of workforces does not work for every organization. Particularly, in high-tech companies where a frequent change of products or services is imminent and where creativity is imperative for business sustainability. Furthermore, old employees show resistance to any change in the organization and it has been found that this workforce habitually procrastinates any new initiative in the workplace. Lastly, the Study shows that the knowledge gap between old and young colleagues cause dire consequences in decision making. Employee conflict is, therefore, more visible in workplaces where the generation gap is wider.

On the whole, Multi-generational workforce is an asset for any organization and clearly, advantages of it supersede its disadvantages. The limitations of this workforce could be overcome if proper training for old and new employees is ensured. In addition, it is impossible to exclude a whole generation from the workforce, be it young or old, considering long term prospects of a corporation.