Topic: Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used to learn important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, there have been arguments about the range of subject ought to be taught at school. While some hold the view that core subjects should remain predominant in teaching at school, others propose that cooking lessons should be a part of the curriculum. Personally, I am partial to the latter.

It is commonly believed that schools should only have main subjects in their teaching program. One obvious reason is that these subjects are fundamental for students. In order to pursue higher education, one needs to have a comprehensive knowledge of these subjects. Moreover, non-related subjects such as cooking may deprive them of the necessary time they need to concentrate on subjects such as math or literature, thereby resolved in low chances of being accepted to universities. Therefore, it is sensible why many advocate the curriculum which insists of only major subjects.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned reasons, there are more compelling pieces of evidence support teaching gastronomy. Firstly, learning about food provides students a better understanding of what they eat on a daily basis. When they are armed with culinary knowledge, they could evade toxic types of food with ease. In addition, students with cooking skills would have no problem tending themselves when moving out of their family to live an adult life. Especially with the increasing popularity of studying abroad, self-care is of paramount importance.

In conclusion, while there are valid reasons for the teaching of core subjects, I am of the opinion that a greater emphasis should be attached to the teaching of culinary subjects. Such life skills should be a part of children learning programs in today’s world.