All towns and cities need to have large outdoor public spaces such as parks or squares. Do you agree or disagree?

Urban planning has a considerable bearing on the well-being of the whole city. Despite there have been arguments about which is the most effective way to design a city in order to boost the dweller’s welfare, I am firmly convinced that the presence of public facilities such as parks and squares are necessary.

These green places play an indispensable role in the development of physical health. Since both adults and children in major cities staring at the computer for hours straight, either for working or playing. As a result, they tend to have visual problems or spine disorders. In addition, the lack of leisure activities could be attributed to the increasing health diseases such as obesity and diabetes. These low levels of physical activities could be attributed to the lack of open spaces where people can exercise and play sport. It is sensible why parks and squares are of paramount importance.

Health aside, wide public infrastructures also improve the psychological well-being of cities citizens. Communal sites such as parks or sports venues are deemed the site where people gather to relax after grueling working hours and build local communities. For example, one can be a part of any nearby communities, such as a basketball club, yoga club, which foster a sense of belonging. Moreover, staying indoor for an extended period of time can take a heavy toll on one’s mental health. Mental illness such as depression or social anxiety is commonly seen when a person fails to seek social interaction, which can be found in public venues.

In conclusion, there are valid reasons to support the construction of public spaces in cities. With the increasing population, it is undoubtedly that these places are directly connected to the well-being of citizens.