Tourism today creates a variety of problems such as pollution due to flights transport and dirty water Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today s tourism industry Give reasons for your answer an

Nowadays by growing the tourism industry in all part of the world, a wide range of issues and problems like air pollution, water pollution and so on have been appeared.

In this essay we will try to discuss possible policy solutions that can be applied by governments to reduce negative impacts of fast growing of tourism industry, such as increasing taxes on transport especially air transport or even accommodation and tourism attraction points like museums.

If we compare the number of people who like to travel and visit far places with one or two decades ago, we will see a huge increment in this number. This is not only because of effects of social media and the internet, but also by further development of air travel industry, the prices for flights have been decreased in fact. In addition to that we must consider the impact of competition between travel agencies in reducing prices to absorb more customers.

Many believe that local governments must control the number of tourists that visit a particular region in each year. Making laws and regulations is one of the options in the hand of governments. However, governments can increase the taxes on the resources that tourists like to enjoy from. For example, they can impose extra taxes for those who like to visit the beaches. In this way, authorities can use this extra money to compensate negative effects of tourism industry in their regions.

In conclusion, growing of tourism industry and increase in the number of travellers, caused many pollution issues in different part of the world. However, local governments have to reduce negative effects of this development by controlling the number of travellers, and one of the tools in the hand of governments is imposing extra taxes on flights, accommodations and so on.