University lecturers are now able to put their lectures on the internet for students to read and so the importance of attending face-to-face lectures have reduced.

Do you believe that the use of internet in formal education is a good idea?

High-speed internet has made it possible for students to download the University lectures and read or watch from their homes. However, this had led to decreased interaction with the lectures and the students. So, the question arises whether usage of internet for formal education is beneficial. In my opinion, the internet has come as a blessing in the education sector. I will provide my justification in the coming paragraphs for the same.

Despite being brilliant students, there are many students across the world cannot study in prestigious universities like Oxford or Cambridge, due to their poor financial status. Since the internet is available in the remotest corner of the word and can be accessed at a much lower cost. It has enabled these students to study online and get the best of education, by registering for the University online courses.

Apart from this, the internet also allows to watch or read the contents any number of times without any extra cost. This helps the students who would have missed their lectures due to some unavoidable circumstances thereby keeping them abreast of the latest lectures.

Lastly, the concept of live streaming is also coming up fast and many universities are adopting it. This allows students to participate in the live classed held by the lectures in real time. Students can also ask questions as if they are physically present in the classroom which in turns helps to build a more interpersonal relationship the lecturer.

All in all, considering all the above points it is very evident that using the internet for formal education is a great idea.