The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behaviour.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is important to adopt different methods to enhance the performance of students. I disagree with the view that corporal punishment is imperative to bring positive changes in the behavior of students because there are several alternatives to this and it may have some negative consequences.

The behavior of students can be improved through motivation. As they learn more from real life stories and events, changes can be brought in their behavior by including such type of study material in school curriculum. Additionally, it is true that students learn what they see in school or at their homes. Therefore, teachers and parents can easily make them aware about the importance of positive behavior by inculcating these qualities in the whole society. For instance, when children do not see any kind of illegal activity such as robbery, murder and molestation in their surrounding environment, they are less likely to acquire negative habits in their life.

Apart from this, the use of corporal punishment sometimes have adverse impact on the behavior of students. There are chances that they can stop reacting to any kind of physical abuse after being highly exposed to it. In such scenario it is extremely difficult to lead them toward positive path. Moreover, hitting the students for their mistakes can weak the bond between a student and a teacher which is highly crucial for the teaching learning process. A latest news have reported that the student of ninth standard in New york city has murdered his teacher with sharp edged weapon. It was found from the investigation that he was severely beaten by her due to less marks in the exam. Therefore, it is important to handle the students with extra care rather than hitting them physically.

To conclude, many countries have banned the corporal punishment to students due to its adverse impacts on students' behavior. I also condemn its use as students need special care and motivation rather than punishment.