Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology has captured the whole world in such a way that every human activity is driven by it. Although this invention has benefited the society by increasing the efficiency of people, its negative effects on the social and personal lives of people are far more dangerous.

The development of computers and the internet has increased the output of people by eliminating the chances of error and reducing the wastage of time. The implementation of CNC machines in a manufacturing company, for example, has not only decreased the drudgery but also improved the quality of work. Such type of innovations are highly crucial in every domain to meet the requirements of rapidly growing world.

On the other hand, the influence of information technology on the social life of people has numerous catastrophic effects. With the emergence of social networking websites, many people, especially young adults, have started spending more time in front of the screen of their laptop or mobile phone than interacting with their family members and friends. This leads to weaken emotional bonds between them. Additionally, IT companies use various algorithms to read the psychology of people so that they can be bombarded with the advertisements. For instance, Facebook monitors each and every moment of its users from their profiles and then recommend the similar posts to instigate their desires. This marketing strategy is beneficial for large companies, but it hampers the mental peace of users due to their limited purchasing power.

To conclude, it is undeniable that the use of information technology is inevitable in the modern world. However, there is a requirement of control due to its devastating effects on the social relationships and personal life of people.