The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

People use electronic media to communicate with each other more and more these days, rather than having face-to-face contact or speaking to each other. This can affect their relationships with other people. But is the effect necessarily a negative one? It is easy to see that electronic media brings numerous outstanding advantages. It revolutionizes the way we communicate today. For instance, we can make new friends through social media and keep our friends up to date with everything they're doing. People can extend their group of friends very quickly and easily. We can also contact each other immediately and it allows friends and family overseas to keep in touch as well as stay connected. On the other hand, there can be negative effects too. Many cases have been proved that some people react and treat each other actively and enthusiastically when they have a conversation on electronic media. Nevertheless, they become awkward and shy when it comes to face-to-face contact, on the contrary, they feel confident with chatting through a device. Nowadays, people just depend on social media too much that makes them lack communication. Besides that, some people don't bother to respond to communications via text messages or emails and this can upset people who have sent them. Overall, communicating through electronic media can cause some problems between people, and obviously, it can't replace meeting and talking face-to-face - which strongly built a good relationship for people. But in my personal opinion, it can still has more positive than negative effects, as long as we know how to balance our relationship with people at any aspect.