The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of technology, people tend to use electronic media more and more. Some people think that it affects negatively on people's relationships. Personally, I agree with this idea, but I still believe it has some positive effects as now will be explained.

On one hand, electronic media are likely to one of the reasons causing problems in relationships. Firstly, using electronic media such as mobile phones makes them worse in communication. People may have a tendency to rely on it to send messages instead of talking in person. Secondly, excessively using electronic media could reduce communication skills. Indeed, people do not need to use body language, which makes them find it difficult to explain their own thoughts when facing to face. Consequence, due to fewer interactions, people would face the risk of lacking confidence which makes them scared of public speaking.

On the other hand, electronic media are also a key feature contributing to making relationships better. If in the past people had to spend a month on sending a message, nowadays thanks to the growth of advanced technology, particularly electronic media, it helps people to receive messages immediately or even see each other through video calls. Furthermore, the development of technology, many social networks were born such as Twitter and Facebook, allowed users to make friends from all over the world, which help to widen their personal relationships.

In conclusion, I think electronic media has its own benefits and downsides. It all depends on how people use them.