The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many

people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s high-tech society, mass media has played a vital role and it seemed to gradually supplant

the conventional face-to-face discourse. This essay will argue that bound and detrimented demirits of

social media appears overshadowing the merits entailed by this phenomenon.

Social networking sites have brought enormous benefits about cultural harmonize and interactive

purpose. Firstly, the networking usage is likely to make people’s life more flexible. We are now able to globally connect with our families, friends or people have common interests from distances through video conferencing on various social apps such as Facebook or Instagram, thus making our communications much easier. Moreover, mass using forms of media have generally made culture more diverse by helping users to develop distinct and creative trends in community .Take street fashion in Vietnam as an example, Vietnamese teens have been merging their fashions with those trending on TikTok in Korea, USA and China .Thus, a new style included elements of different cultures emerged.

Despite these aforementioned benefits, several drawbacks related to emotional aspects do exist. First of all, overusing social media could lead to the lack of pragmatic communications. People today appear to be more prone to spend their time looking at their smartphone, browsing, and chasing trends than connecting with the opposite person. This may result in individuals becoming isolated and having less interpersonal conversations. Besides, individuals could be victims of cyberbullying, which means some people exhibit their aggressive behaviors through social networks. For example, some people make fun of others harshly and are shielded behind a screen from being held responsible for their actions in the cyber world. Self-assailants, on the other hand, are anxious and have serious mental difficulties.

In conclusion, social media seemed to be a double-edged sword. Despite the positive, there more negative

effects are given in reality. However, it depends on the way we use.