The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The face-to-face communication today is gradually being replaced by online conversations on social media such as Facebook or Twitter. Many hold the view that this trend has a negative impact on frequent users. While I partly agree with this point of view, I believe that they creates more benefits for society than disadvantages.

On the one hand, the reason why I in part agree with some people’s negative viewpoint is that the overuse of social media reduces the quality of interpersonal communication. Many people are so addicted to social media that they always stare at their smartphone screen without paying attention to those around them. Unlike in the past when people devoted most of their leisure time to meeting up and chatting with one another, nowadays in meetings, dates or group work sessions, individuals often interact on social networks more than with the opposite person. So, social media are partly reducing the connection and interaction among humans in present-day society.

On the other hand, I claim that social media help many daily activities to become quicker, more convenient and economical than before. A wide range of human activities today are dependent on these platforms from everyday communication to the exchange of information at work. For example, social media are a powerful marketing tool allowing companies to exhibit their product information and promote them to potential customers. This enables them to save a great deal of time and budget compared to other traditional marketing methods such as in newspapers or on the air.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge some drawbacks of social networks, I believe that these disadvantages bear no comparison with benefits they bring to society.