Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children Do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, how to take advantage of computers is a heated topic of controversy. Many parents claim that using computers regularly can be more harmful to children than useful. In this short essay, I will elaborate on why I disagree with this statement.

Good or bad, computers, as the mother of modern technologies, are getting more important every day, and it is expected that they play the biggest role in our future, thus, learning how to work with them is crucial. In the 21st Century, the use of computers has become widespread in every aspect of human life such as education, work, communication, etc. Therefore, a lack of knowledge may lead to less chance of success in future. Hence, not only we shouldn't keep our children away from computers, but we should encourage them to learn how to take advantage of computers. For instance, when I was a kid, my parents bought me a computer and encouraged me to learn how to work with it. I got engaged with it after a while and learnt many software like Microsoft Office, Autocad, etc, which later helped me to get a great design job opportunity in a very top-notch company.

On the other hand, computers, like any other technology, can have some demerits for everybody, especially children. Children may get addicted to harmful content on computers that not only will waste their time, but they can cause some serious damage to their mental health, relationships, etc. Also, the prolonged use of computers can lead to social isolation and loneliness, as individuals may spend more time interacting with screens than with other people.

In conclusion, although computers have some potentially negative impacts, children need to learn them, if they want to have a better future. Furthermore, there are some techniques to mitigate downcasts by supervising children while they are using computers. As a result, in my opinion, striking a balance between encouraging them to use computers and keeping them away from unsuitable content is the best approach.