Ways to promote creativity at school

Creativity, an invaluable aspect of human experience, needs fostering from early children to adolescence. There are many ways to develop this gift in the school environment.

First of all, a congenial environment where every individual can express onself without a fear of castigation is crucial to promote creativity. The backward notion that students conform to his teachers’ instructions rigidly and unquestioningly should be abolished. Every constraints for creativity must be removed and students should be encouraged to think out of the box and come up with many possible outcomes of a problem as possible. And if students can reach new solutions and achievements in their studies, teachers should praise them and give them a reward because this would give students an incentive to make more progress and boost their creativity.

Secondly, teachers should encourage group work and collaboration among students in the classroom. When brainstorming solutions to a challenge with their peers, students usually have a greater sense of autonmy, which can ignite creativity. Teachers can support students’ group work by introducing unconventional learning materials and give them useful advice. In this way, they are more like facilitators rather than information provider.

Last but not least, educators need to acknowledge the importance of Arts and Arts-related subjects. For instance, in Vietnam, Arts-related subjects are only taught from elementary school to grade nine. Despite being excluded from high schools’ curriculum, Arts train students to devise novel approches to dealing with the world around them. Hence, the incorporation of Arts and Arts-related subjects in high school will certainly unlock students’ full potential of creativity.

To conclude, a supportive environment, the encouragement ofgroup work and a greater emphasis on Arts are essential towards promoting creativity. By doing this, not only creativity can be boosted but teachers and students can also reach the highest levels of efficiency in their classrooms.